Welcome to Democratic Convention Watch

Donate to DCW

Follow DCW on Twitter
Follow DCW on Facebook
2016 Democratic Convention
2016 Republican Convention Charlotte Host Committee
2010 Census

Follow DCW on Google+
DCW iPhone App Info
A Guide to DemConWatch
2008 Democratic Primary Links
2008 Democratic National Convention Links
DemConWatch Archives '05-'08
DemConWatch Speeches
Inauguration Information
DCW Store

Mobile Version


Advanced Search

This site is not affiliated with the DNC, DNCC, or any campaign.

Email us at

Blog Roll
Frontloading HQ
The Field
Swing State Project

DCW in the News
St. Louis Channel 2 News
Wall Street Journal
The New York Times
US News & World Report

Department of Justice Confirmation List

by: Oreo

Thu Jan 22, 2009 at 20:11:18 PM EST

DemConWatch will be keeping track of all of the major staff announcements in the Obama Administration. We'll list the Position, Nominee, Committee and Hearing and Vote Information.

The following table lists all positions in the Department of Justice that require Senate Confirmation. You can see the rest of the confirmation lists here.

Information has been gathered from the Plum Book as well as several other government sites. The positions addressed in this list are marked as PAS in the Plum Book.

The latest updates can always be found on our Presidential Appointment Updates post.

Position NomineeCommitteeHearing StatusVote Status  
Deputy Attorney General David Ogden Judiciary
2/5/09 (14-5 2/26) 3/12 (66-26)   
Asst Attorney General, Criminal Division Lanny Breuer
Asst Attorney General, National Security Division David Kris
 2/25/09 TBD  
Asst Attorney General, Office of Legislative Affairs Ronald Weich TBD TBD  
Asst Attorney General, Office of Legal Council Dawn Johnsen 2/25/09 TBD  
Asst Attorney General, Office of Legal Policy TBA TBD TBD  
Chairman, US Parole Commission TBA TBD TBD  
Vice Chairman, US Parole CommissionTBA TBD TBD  
Parole Commissioner, US Parole CommissionTBA TBD TBD  
Associate Attorney General Tom Perrelli
 2/10/09 3/12 (72-20)  
Asst Attorney General, Antitrust Division Christine Varney
Asst Attorney General, Civil Division Tony West
Asst Attorney General, Civil Rights Division Tom Perez
Asst Attorney General, Environment & Natural Resources Division TBA TBD TBD  
Asst Attorney General, Tax Division TBA TBD TBD  
Director, Bureau of Justice Statistics TBA TBD TBD  
Director, Bureau of Justice AssistanceTBA TBD TBD  
Director, National Institute of Justice TBA TBD TBD  
Administrator, Office of Juvenile Justice & Delinquency Prevention TBA TBD TBD  
Director, Office for Victims of Crime TBA TBD TBD  
Director, Community Relations Service TBA TBD TBD  
Chairman, Foreign Claims Settlement Commission TBA TBD TBD  
Member, Foreign Claims Settlement CommissionTBA TBD TBD  
Director, Office of Violence Against Women TBA TBD TBD  
Solicitor General Elena Kagan 2/10/09 3/19/09 (61-31)
Inspector General TBA TBD TBD  
Director, Federal Bureau of Investigations Robert Mueller Expires 9/3/11 N/A N/A  
Administrator, Drug Enforcement Agency TBA TBD TBD  
Deputy Administrator, Drug Enforcement AgencyTBA TBD TBD  
Director, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives TBA TBD TBD  
Director, US Marshals TBA TBD TBD  
Last updated: 3/19/09
Oreo :: Department of Justice Confirmation List

Follow Democratic Convention Watch on Facebook and Twitter. Iphone/Android apps available.

Tags: , , , (All Tags)
Print Friendly View Send As Email




Forget your username or password?

Make a New Account

Currently 0 user(s) logged on.

Subscribe to Posts

DemConWatch on Twitter
DemConWatch on Facebook

View blog authority

Add to Technorati Favorites

Wikio - Top Blogs - Politics

Who links to my website?

Sign the Petition (A)
Powered by: SoapBlox